Skip to content.

Pamela Bradshaw Becomes “Powerball First Millionaire of the Year”

For the Fifth Consecutive Year, $1 Million Drawing Held Just After Midnight

Just after midnight, POWERBALL® and Dick Clark Productions announced Pamela Bradshaw from Clinton, North Carolina, as the winner of the “POWERBALL First Millionaire of the Year” drawing during ABC’s live broadcast of “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2024.” Revealed live on-air by host Ryan Seacrest, Bradshaw was the $1 million winner randomly selected at the culmination of the national POWERBALL promotion.

"Congratulations to Pamela Bradshaw for becoming the fifth millionaire from this exciting Powerball promotion, which rings in the New Year!” said Drew Svitko, Powerball Product Group Chair and Pennsylvania Lottery Executive Director. “Powerball and its lottery partners have enjoyed sharing the joy and thrill of this winning moment with audiences over the past five years, as we continue our mission to serve local communities everywhere Powerball tickets are sold.”

Bradshaw was one of five finalists for the $1 million prize. Each finalist won a VIP trip for two to New York City to ring in the New Year and participate in the random drawing in person. Each finalist entered the national Powerball promotion through one of 23 participating U.S. lotteries. Throughout last year, participating lotteries held second-chance drawings and contests to form a national pool of entrants. The five finalists were randomly selected from the national pool during a preliminary drawing.

Lotteries that participated in the promotion include Arizona, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana (Hoosier), Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Virgin Islands, and Washington D.C.

Last year, finalists from across the country traveled to New York City for a VIP experience, capped off by an exclusive New Year’s Eve gala in Times Square and the $1 million drawing. Just after midnight, Gary Krigbaum from North Carolina was named the 2023 “POWERBALL First Millionaire of the Year.”