Skip to content.

"Powerball First Millionaire of the Year" Promotion Returns to Times Square

$1 Million Drawing to be Broadcast Live on “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2023” on ABC

Powerball First Millionaire of the Year

LOS ANGELES, CA – Dick Clark productions and POWERBALL® revealed today the national pool of finalists in the “POWERBALL First Millionaire of the Year” promotion. For the fourth consecutive year, POWERBALL will hold a special drawing for the $1 million prize just after midnight EST on ABC’s broadcast of “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2023.”

For the first time since the inaugural event in 2019, the finalists for the $1 million prize will return to New York City for a VIP experience, capped off by an exclusive New Year’s Eve gala in Times Square and the $1 million drawing. Each of the 29 finalists entered a second-chance drawing or contest held by one of the 29 U.S. lotteries participating in the POWERBALL promotion. The finalists advancing to the next round are:

  • Arizona, Sharon Vandergriff
  • District of Columbia, Ursula Logan
  • Delaware, Shelly Stanley
  • Florida, Phaedra Moore
  • Georgia, Kiarra Poindexter
  • Iowa, Christina Manuel
  • Idaho, Christopher LePeilbet
  • Illinois, Cynthia Hines-Butler
  • Indiana, Heather Petty
  • Kansas, Barbara Warner
  • Kentucky, Deborah Wimsatt
  • Louisiana, Marcel Breaux
  • Maryland, Ulric Thomas
  • Maine, Gregory Swain
  • Minnesota, Jared Jank
  • Mississippi, J. Brown
  • Montana, Andrew Gideon
  • North Carolina, Gary Krigbaum
  • North Dakota, Leslie Moe
  • Nebraska, Norman Hall
  • New Mexico, David Howard
  • Pennsylvania, Tracy Gretz
  • Rhode Island, James Iwuc
  • South Dakota, Gabriella Anane
  • Tennessee, Chetnaben Patel
  • Virginia, David Younce
  • Virgin Islands, Vanesa Garcia
  • Wisconsin, Amy Hughes
  • West Virginia, Gary Hicks

As previously announced, country artist Jessie James Decker will return as the POWERBALL® co-host for her fourth year and will provide live updates throughout the evening, checking in with finalists celebrating at the POWERBALL New Year’s Eve gala, before revealing the “POWERBALL First Millionaire of the Year” alongside Ryan Seacrest  just after midnight EST on January 1, 2023.

Last year, “Dick Clark’s New Year’s Rockin’ Eve with Ryan Seacrest” took viewers to each of the five finalists’ hometowns. Just after midnight, Brian Mineweaser from Honey Brook, Pennsylvania was named the 2022 POWERBALL First Millionaire of the Year. In 2021 and 2020, Carlos Mabry from Washington, D.C. and Blaine Marston from Passadumkeag, Maine were named the $1 million winners, respectively.

For more information on the “POWERBALL First Millionaire of the Year” promotion, please visit