Skip to content.

Round of 8 locked in after second elimination drawing in NASCAR Powerball Playoff™

Powerball, the Official Lottery Game of NASCAR, announces the 8 semi-finalists advancing in the race to $1 million!


The field of semi-finalists in the race to $1 million has been cut in half following the second elimination drawing in the NASCAR Powerball Playoff™. NASCAR® and Powerball® announced today, during the Bank of America ROVAL™ 400 at Charlotte Motor Speedway, the 8 semi-finalists who have advanced in the playoff for a chance to win a VIP trip to NASCAR Championship Weekend™ at Phoenix Raceway and the $1 million grand prize.

The semi-finalists in the Round of 8, include:

  • Misty Goad – Tucson, AZ
  • Marcelo Jo – Boca Raton, FL
  • Donald Pope – Michigan City, IN
  • Walter Held – Independence, KY
  • Stephanie Walker – West Point, MS
  • Peter Schmitz – Santa Fe, NM
  • Angela Tamba – Harrisburg, PA
  • Barbara Wipf – Sioux Falls, SD

The four semi-finalists eliminated from the playoff have each won a $5,000 prize for making it to the Round of 12, they include:

  • Richelle Abbott – Gardiner, ME
  • Joseph Medina – Franklin, NE
  • Robert Wilkinson – Oakland Gardens, NY
  • Ronald Sewell – Columbia, SC

The next drawing in the NASCAR Powerball Playoff will be for the Championship 4. The four semi-finalists who advance from the Championship 4 drawing will win a VIP trip for two to NASCAR Championship Weekend™ at Phoenix Raceway, Nov. 3-5, and advance as finalists to the $1 million drawing. The Championship 4 will be announced during the Xfinity 500 at Martinsville Speedway on Oct. 29. The race will air live on NBC, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, and the NBC Sports App at 2 p.m. EST. The four players eliminated from the playoff at that time will win $7,500 each.

Drawing Announcement Date Race Playoffs
1. Round of 16 Aug. 26 Coke Zero Sugar 400, Daytona International Speedway 16 semi-finalists advance
2. Round of 12 Sept. 16 Bass Pro Shops Night Race, Bristol Motor Speedway 12 semi-finalists advance
4 eliminated win $2,500
3. Round of 8 Oct. 8 Bank of America ROVAL™ 400, Charlotte Motor Speedway 8 semi-finalists advance
4 eliminated win $5,000
4. Championship 4 Oct. 29 Xfinity 500, Martinsville Speedway 4 finalists advance & win VIP trip
4 eliminated win $7,500
5. $1 Million Drawing Nov. 5 NASCAR Cup Series Championship, Phoenix Raceway ONE $1 Million winner
THREE $10,000 winners

The VIP trip for the Championship 4 includes roundtrip airfare for two to Phoenix, three nights hotel accommodations – double occupancy, two Ally Curve Hospitality Club passes for both the NASCAR Xfinity Series Championship Race on Nov. 4 and the NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race on Nov. 5, two passes for VIP experiences at Phoenix Raceway including NASCAR Cup Series™ VIP access, NASCAR team hauler tour, MRN radio booth tour, pace car rides, and Victory Lane access, welcome dinner and all meals, and ground transportation to scheduled events and activities.

The promotion will culminate with a $1 million drawing broadcast live from the NASCAR Cup Series Championship Race™ on NBC on Sunday, Nov. 5. Cash prizes will be awarded to all sixteen semi-finalists based on their elimination position.

All semi-finalists entered the national promotion through one of 24 participating state lotteries. Participating lotteries held in-state contests and second-chance drawings throughout the 2023 NASCAR regular season to form a national pool of entrants. Sixteen semi-finalists were randomly selected from the national pool to compete in a series of elimination drawings that mirror the elimination rounds of the NASCAR Playoffs.

Lotteries that participated in the inaugural NASCAR Powerball Playoff include Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, and West Virginia.

NASCAR® is a registered trademark of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, LLC. Copyright ©2023 National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, LLC. All Rights Reserved. NASCAR®, LLC is not a sponsor of this promotion.